aislingfwrites

30 Poems in 30 Days – Poem #1

In Uncategorized on April 1, 2013 at 7:27 pm

It can be hard to slot in time to write amongst all of the other more pressing things we have to do from day to day. In order to combat this, I’ve decided to take part in NaPoWriMo – National Poetry Writing Month. April is National Poetry Month, so what better way to procrastinate from all of the revision I should be doing – the challenge is to write 30 poems in 30 days. I’ll be attempting to write a poem a day and posting my hesitant drafts here. Here is attempt number one: 

Poem #1

How everything starts –

The rain is spitting, still unsure of if it will pour tonight.
These will probably all turn into conversations we’ve had,  
or moments where words curled up under rocks too large for me to move –
 
the printer is jammed, there is no post on bank holidays, the signal is bad in this house.

Still, my mouth will not stop trying to find yours –
pouring empty vowels into an emptier vessel.
Everything stems from knowing you need to get somewhere other than you are now.

The tubes aren’t running today,
so I am walking to yours in platform shoes,
listening to singers prove love only ever amounts to a series of notes in a minor key.

You’d love this song, I’ll let you listen when I get there. 

 

  1. Hi, I enjoyed your poem very much. Good luck with the thirty!

  2. This is a very nice poem. Only 29 to go.

Leave a Reply

